SOC Names Camera Operators of the Year Winners

Bookmark and Share

Mon, 02/26/2024 - 12:06 -- Nick Dager

The Society of Camera Operators has announced the recipients of Camera Operator of the Year in Film and Television. Juanjo Sánchez, SOC and Manuel Branáa took home the title of Camera Operator of the Year in Film for their work on Society of the Snow.  

Camera Operator of the Year in Television Neal Bryant, SOC holds awards for himself and Camera Operator Carey Toner for their work on The Last of Us, S1E3 Long, Long Time at SOC Awards at Directors Guild of America on Saturday 2/24. Photo by Gianna Iovino.Sánchez and Branáa topped a talented group of nominees in the film category, incuding Mick Froehlich, SOC, (Leave the World Behind); Geoffrey Haley, SOC (Chevalier); Ari Issler with B” Camera / Steadicam Operator, Nick Müller, SOC (Boston Strangler); and Andrew ‘AJ’ Johnson, SOC (Carmen).

Neal Bryant, SOC and Camera Operator Carey Toner, were awarded Camera Operator of the Year in Television for their work on The Last of Us, S1E3 Long, Long Time. The TV category nominees included multiple collaborative teams: Dominic Bartolone, SOC with B Camera Operator, Jessica Cannon, C Camera Operator, Justin Cameron, SOC, and Rollerblade Camera Operator, John Lyke (Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty, S2E6 Beat L.A.); Don Devine, SOC with B Camera / Steadicam Operator Neal Bryant, SOC (Barry S4E2 Bestest Place on Earth); Mitch Dubin, SOC with Francois Archambault, SOC, B Camera Operator (Fargo S5E1 The Tragedy of the Commons); and Gary Malouf with Chris Dame, B Camera Operator (The Bear S2E10 The Bear).

The SOC Awards show celebrated the organization's remarkable 45 years of dedication to advancing the art and craft of camera operation. Hundreds of guests, nominees, and decorated industry leaders attended the Awards. In recognition of the industry's challenges during the past year, the SOC made deliberate modifications to the traditional ceremony, encompassing theater seating at a new location and a fresh, innovative awards format. 

In addition to celebrating the achievements of the exceptional film makers and crews, the SOC Awards proudly welcomed Dr. C. Thomas Lee from the Vision Center at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles to center screen to salute to the success of the SOC’s continued support, including filming the charity’s fundraising videos.