ASC Names Outstanding Achievement Award Winners

Bookmark and Share

Mon, 01/27/2020 - 11:39 -- Nick Dager

The American Society of Cinematographers presented their 34th annual Outstanding Achievement Awards Saturday night at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. The Theatrical Award for best cinematography in a motion picture went to Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for 1917. Jarin Blaschke took the Spotlight Award for The Lighthouse, and Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma won the inaugural Documentary Award for Honeyland.

The Theatrical Award for best cinematography in a motion picture went to Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for 1917.In the television categories, winners included Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC for The Handmaid’s Tale; John Conroy, ISC for The Terror: Infamy; and C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC for Project Blue Book. TCM’s Ben Mankiewicz hosted the awards gala, which was held at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

With the exception of Deakins, all of the awards were handed out to first-time winners. Deakins collected the top honor last year for Blade Runner 2049 and previously for Skyfall, The Man Who Wasn’t There, and The Shawshank Redemption.

Honorary awards were also presented, including:

The ASC Board of Governors Award was given to Werner Herzog by Paul Holdengräber, interviewer-curator-writer and executive director of the Onassis Foundation. The award recognizes Herzog’s significant and indelible contributions to cinema. It is the only ASC Award not given to a cinematographer and is reserved for filmmakers who have been champions of the visual art form.

The ASC Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Frederick Elmes, ASC by writer-director Lisa Cholodenko. The duo collaborated on the Emmy-winning Olive Kittridge.

The ASC Career Achievement in Television Award was handed out to Donald A. Morgan, ASC by actor Tim Allen. The two work together on the award-winning Last Man Standing, and previously collaborated on Home Improvement.

The International Award was bestowed upon Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC by writer-director Joel Coen. The duo has joined forces on several films, including the Oscar-nominated Inside Llewyn Davis and The Ballad of Buster Scruggs.

This year’s President’s Award went to Don McCuaig, ASC. It was given to him by longtime friend and actor-stuntman Mickey Gilbert.

Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma won the inaugural Documentary Award for Honeyland.The ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction was given to Kim Snyder, president and CEO of Panavision. This award is presented to an ASC Associate Member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the society and/or has made a significant contribution to the motion-picture industry.

Here is the complete list of winners and nominees. The winners are in boldface:

Theatrical Release Category – presented by Diane Lane

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC – 1917 

Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC – Ford v Ferrari

Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC – The Irishman

Robert Richardson, ASC – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Lawrence Sher, ASC – Joker

Spotlight Award Category – presented by Bartosz Bielenia

Jarin Blaschke – The Lighthouse

Natasha Braier, ASC, ADF – Honey Boy

Jasper Wolf, NSC – Monos

Documentary Category – presented by Todd Phillips

Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma – Honeyland

Nicholas de Pencier – Anthropocene: The Human Epoch

Evangelia Kranioti – Obscuro Barroco

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television – presented by Emily Deschanel

David Luther – Das Boot, Gegen die Zeit (episode 6)

M. David Mullen, ASC – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Simone

Chris Seager, BSC – Carnival Row, Grieve No More

Brendan Steacy, CSC – Titans, Dick Grayson

Colin Watkinson, ASC, BSC – The Handmaid’s Tale, Night

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television – presented by Jane Lynch

Dana Gonzales, ASC – Legion, Chapter 20

C. Kim Miles, CSC, MySC – Project Blue Book, The Flatwoods Monster

Polly Morgan, ASC, BSC – Legion, Chapter 23

Peter Robertson, ISC – Vikings, Hell

David Stockton, ASC – Gotham, Ace Chemicals

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television – presented by Michael McKean

John Conroy, ISC – The Terror: Infamy, A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest

P.J. Dillon, ISC – The Rook, Chapter 1

Chris Manley, ASC – Doom Patrol, pilot

Martin Ruhe, ASC – Catch-22, Episode 5

Craig Wrobleski, CSC – The Twilight Zone, Blurryman

American Society of Cinematographers