ASC Announces 2016 Outstanding Achievement Nominees

Bookmark and Share

Wed, 01/06/2016 - 13:04 -- Nick Dager

The nominees in the theatrical release category of the 30th Annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards for Outstanding Achievement are Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Sicario, Janusz Kaminski for Bridge of Spies, Ed Lachman, ASC for Carol, EmmanuelLubezki, ASC, AMC for The Revenant and John Seale, ASC, ACS for Mad Max: Fury Road. The winner will be revealed on February 14 during the ASC Awards gala at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

“Our members have spoken with a fabulous group of choices,” says ASC president Richard Crudo. “The quality of the work is astounding and it's great to see we're once again at the forefront of giving recognition where it's due.”

Lubezki won the ASC feature category the last two years for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) (2015) and Gravity (2014), and also took top prize for The Tree of Life (2012) and Children of Men (2007). He was nominated in 2000 for Sleepy Hollow.

This is Deakins’ 14th ASC nomination. He previously won for Skyfall (2013), The Shawshank Redemption (1995) and The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002). His other nominations include Unbroken(2015), Prisoners (2014), True Grit (2011), The Reader (2009), Revolutionary Road (2009), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2008), No Country for Old Men (2008), O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2001), Kundun (1998), and Fargo (1997).

Seale earned top honors from the ASC for The English Patient (1997) and received nominations for Cold Mountain (2004), The Perfect Storm (2001), and Rain Man (1989).

Kaminski has been nominated for Lincoln (2013), The Diving Bell and the Butterfly (2008), Saving Private Ryan (1999), Amistad (1998), and Schindler’s List (1994).

Lachman was previously nominated in 2012 in the television movie category for HBO’s Mildred Pierce, and in 2003 for the feature film Far From Heaven.

“Each of the nominated films represents a different genre and masterfully distinct visual styles,” said ASC award chairman Daryn Okada. “We look forward to celebrating the extraordinary accomplishments of these nominees.”

American Society of Cinematographers