Sony Pictures Studios’ McCarthy New MPSE President

Bookmark and Share

Thu, 12/10/2015 - 11:05 -- Nick Dager

The Motion Picture Sound Editors have elected Tom McCarthy as president. McCarthy is an Academy Award- and BAFTA Award-winning sound supervisor and longtime industry executive. He currently serves as executive vice president post-production facilities at Sony Pictures Studios. He succeeds Frank Morrone.

Supervising sound editor Glenn T. Morgan was elected Secretary. He succeeds Chris Reeves. McCarthy and Morgan join continuing officers Mark Lanza, vice president; Paul Rodriguez, treasurer and Jeremy J. Gordon, sergeant at arms.

McCarthy describes his new role with MPSE as an opportunity to give back to an industry that he has worked in for nearly four decades. “I want to encourage more members to become involved in MPSE activities, including running for board positions,” he said. “I will also work to increase recognition for the art of entertainment sound, and the contributions sound editors make to motion pictures, television, games and other media.”

McCarthy adds that MPSE is planning to expand its series of sound seminars and to create new educational opportunities for students and young professionals. “We see the MPSE as a forum where veteran sound professionals can share insights and advice with other members to improve their skills and grow their careers.”

Outgoing president, Morrone, said the MPSE has made substantial progress in its mission to promote the craft of sound editors. “It was an honor to serve as president of the organization during such an exciting time for sound,” Morrone said. “Sound editors are employing their skills in new ways and in new mediums, and MPSE has supported them through our educational programs, industry outreach and annual Golden Reel awards competition.”

In addition to the new officers, MPSE elected several candidates to board seats.  Steve Urban, Steve Avila, Mike Draghi, Solange Schwalbe, Bernard Weiser and Mandell Winter were elected to the film board. Mark Jasper, William Dannevik and Chris Reeves were elected to the television board. Charles Deenen was elected to the game cinematics board.  Avila, Draghi, Schwalbe, Weiser, Winter, Dannevik, Reeves and Deenen were incumbents. 

Motion Picture Sound Editors