ATSC Elects New Board Members

Bookmark and Share

Wed, 12/30/2015 - 09:34 -- Nick Dager

Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee have elected five industry executives to serve on the ATSC Board of Directors for three-year terms beginning January 2016. New to the board are Christopher Homer, Vice President, Operations & Engineering, PBS, and Anne Schelle, Executive Director, Pearl TV. They will join re-elected board members Brett Jenkins, Media General; Richard Friedel, Fox Networks; and current board chairman Glenn Reitmeier, NBC Universal.

Other current directors whose terms continue in 2016 are: Lynn Claudy, National Association of Broadcasters; Mark Eyer, Sony Electronics; John Godfrey, Samsung Electronics; Brian Markwalter, Consumer Technology Association; Andy Scott, National Cable and Telecommunications Association; Dave Siegler, Cox Media Group; Peter Symes, Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers; John Taylor, LG Electronics USA; and Craig Todd, Dolby Laboratories. Representing the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Wayne Luplow, Zenith, succeeds Dr. Yiyan Wu, Communications Research Center Canada.

The Board will elect its chairman at its first meeting of the new year. The ATSC thanks board members whose terms expire at the end of 2015: Ira Goldstone, formerly of Univision, and Sam Matheny, formerly of Capitol Broadcasting.

Homer is responsible for the management of the PBS Network Operations Center, Media Operations Center, PBS Satellite Operations Center, and Engineering & Maintenance. These facilities support distribution operations for the public television interconnection system, which serves more than 350 independently owned and operated public television stations across the country.

Schelle has been Executive Director of Pearl TV since June 2014. She represents Pearl TV on Sprockit, the startup program of National Association of Broadcasters. She served previously as senior advisor to the NAB and as Executive Director of the Open Mobile Video Coalition, where she led outreach efforts by broadcasters to introduce Mobile TV services. Pearl is a partnership of broadcast companies 170 member TV stations that reach two-thirds of the U.S. population.

The Advanced Television Systems Committee is defining the future of television with the ATSC 3.0 next-generation broadcast standard.   ATSC is an international, non-profit organization developing voluntary standards for digital television. The ATSC’s 150-plus member organizations represent the broadcast, broadcast equipment, motion picture, consumer electronics, computer, cable, satellite, and semiconductor industries. 

For more information visit