SMPTE, HPA Announce Student Film Winners

Bookmark and Share

Thu, 12/03/2015 - 12:18 -- Nick Dager

Leon Silverman With Students from NYC College of Technology/CUNY and City College of New YorkThe Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers and the Hollywood Post Alliance have announced the winners of the inaugural SMPTE-HPA Student Film Festival. Held last month in Hollywood, California, during SMPTE’s annual fall conference, the film festival showcased submissions demonstrating creative uses of technology in storytelling.

SMPTE and the HPA received submissions from all over the world, and the 12 official selections shown at SMPTE 2015 represented Canada, Hong Kong, Australia, the U.K., the U.A.E., and the U.S.

Film director Howard Lukk hosted the event. Following the screening of official selections in SMPTE-DCP format, courtesy of Sundog Media Toolkit, six films earned awards in four categories:

Howard Lukk With Student Film Festival Best in Show WinnersBest Creative Use of Technology to Engage the Audience in the Story

Soulmates by Diego Manssur, Vancouver Film School, Canada (5 minutes)
After Invasion by Oleg Smykalov, Vancouver Film School, Canada (30 seconds)

Best Portrayal of Entertainment Technology in the Film - Documentary Format

Virtual Reality Cinema Project by Anna Dining, Rochester Institute of Technology, U.S. (5 minutes)
Girl and the Sea by Aya Al Gergawy, American University of Sharjah, U.A.E. (30 seconds)

Best Creative Use of Virtual Reality in Storytelling

PhaseShift by Louis Arrigoni, Southampton Solent University, U.K.

Best in Show (audience award)

Building for the Future: A City Tech Tale by Jonathan Burcin, Nicholas J. Burt-Miller, Diana V. David, André Gabriel, Jean L. Garcia, Joseph Larsen, Jeffrey N. Lawrence, Anjali Rawat, Gregory A. Scott, NYC College of Technology/CUNY, U.S.

"Our first film festival was a great success in showcasing the talent of up-and-coming members of the media industry, and also in demonstrating the powerful connection between creative and technical innovation," said Leon Silverman, HPA president. "The global nature and quality of submissions this first year was quite impressive, and we look forward to increasing submissions and interest in this important event focused on the future." 

Film festival jurors included filmmaker Patrick Creadon; editor and technology consultant Dave Ginsberg; Peter Girardi of Warner Bros. Animation (WBA) and Blue Ribbon Content (BRC); cinematographer, editor, and director Bobby Hewitt; director of photography Travis LaBella; Patricia Keighley of IMAX Corporation; A. Dale Bud Mayo of Carmike's Alternative Programming and Distribution; documentary marketing and distribution expert Evan Saxon; Ted Schilowitz of 20th Century Fox and Barco; Richard Welsh of Sundog Media Toolkit Ltd.; and Nick Dager, editor and publisher of the website Digital Cinema Report.

Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers