Top Feature Choices Named for ASC 2012 Award

Bookmark and Share

Tue, 01/15/2013 - 19:00 -- Nick Dager

Seamus McGarvey (Anna Karenina) Danny Cohen (Les Miserables) Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi) Janusz Kaminski (Lincoln) and Roger Deakins (Skyfall) have been nominated in the feature film category of the 27th Annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards for Outstanding Achievement. The winner will be announced at the ASC Awards celebration on February 10 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom. “The films our members have nominated are visually distinctive and very diverse: a theatrical epic a grand musical an imaginative 3D fable a sweeping biographical drama and a stylish spy thriller ” said ASC president Stephen Lighthill. “What they all have in common is that each project’s cinematographer contributed captivating visuals that enhanced and elevated the storytelling.” This year’s nod brings Deakins’ total to 11. He won ASC Awards for The Shawshank Redemption (1995) and The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002). His other nominations were for Fargo (1997) Kundun (1998) O Brother Where Art Thou? (2001) No Country for Old Men (2008) The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2008) Revolutionary Road (2009) The Reader (2009) and True Grit (2011). He was also the recipient of the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011. Cohen McGarvey and Miranda have all been recognized once previously – Cohen for The King’s Speech (2011); McGarvey for Atonement (2008); and Miranda for The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (2009).