Steve Martin to Receive 43rd AFI Life Achievement Award

Bookmark and Share

Mon, 10/06/2014 - 13:14 -- Nick Dager

The American Film Institute's Board of Trustees will honor Steve Martin with the 43rd AFI Life Achievement Award, the highest honor for a career in film. The award will be presented to Martin at a gala tribute in Los Angeles, CA on June 4, 2015. The 43rd AFI Life Achievement Award tribute special will return for its third year on TNT when it airs in June 2015 followed by encore presentations on sister network Turner Classic Movies.

"Steve Martin is an American original," said AFI board chairman Sir Howard Stringer. "From a wild and crazy stand-up comic to one who stands tall among the great figures in this American art form, he is a multi-layered creative force bound by neither convention nor caution. His work is defined by him alone, for he is the author – and a national treasure whose work has stuck with us like an arrow in the head. AFI is proud to present him with its 43rd Life Achievement Award."

One of the most diversified performers and acclaimed artists of his generation, Steve Martin is an actor, comedian, author, playwright, screenwriter, producer and musician. Recipient of an Emmy, four Grammy Awards, a Kennedy Center Honor and an Honorary Oscar, Martin first rose to prominence as a stand-up comedian and quickly established himself as a leading man with a body of work defined by his unique creative voice.

Steve Martin joins an esteemed group of individuals who have been chosen for this distinguished honor since its inception in 1973.

1973    John Ford
1974    James Cagney
1975    Orson Welles
1976    William Wyler
1977    Bette Davis
1978    Henry Fonda
1979    Alfred Hitchcock
1980    James Stewart
1981    Fred Astaire
1982    Frank Capra
1983    John Huston
1984    Lillian Gish
1985    Gene Kelly
1986    Billy Wilder
1987    Barbara Stanwyck
1988    Jack Lemmon
1989    Gregory Peck
1990    David Lean
1991    Kirk Douglas
1992    Sidney Poitier
1993    Elizabeth Taylor

1994    Jack Nicholson
1995    Steven Spielberg
1996    Clint Eastwood
1997    Martin Scorsese
1998    Robert Wise
1999    Dustin Hoffman
2000    Harrison Ford
2001    Barbra Streisand
2002    Tom Hanks
2003    Robert De Niro
2004    Meryl Streep
2005    George Lucas
2006    Sean Connery
2007    Al Pacino
2008    Warren Beatty
2009    Michael Douglas
2010    Mike Nichols
2011    Morgan Freeman
2012    Shirley MacLaine
2013    Mel Brooks
2014    Jane Fonda

The American Film Institute