Cinemark Introduces All-Access Pass for Oscar Movie Week Festival

Wed, 02/09/2022 - 09:52 -- Nick Dager

Cinemark is introducing a new all-inclusive digital pass for cinema’s biggest fans during its annual Oscar Movie Week festival. In theatres from March 21 through March 27, the festival gives fans the chance to experience this year’s Best Picture and Best Short (Live Action and Animated) nominated films and have their own ballot ready in hand when the 94th Oscar’s air March 27 on ABC. In partnership with Focus Features’ Downton Abbey: A New Era, the festival is being held at more than 100 participating Cinemark theatres nationwide.

Ellis Jacob to Receive the 2022 NATO Marquee Award

Mon, 02/07/2022 - 11:06 -- Nick Dager

The National Association of Theatre Owners will honor Ellis Jacob, president, and CEO of Cineplex, with the 2022 NATO Marquee Award during this year’s CinemaCon. Mitch Neuhauser managing director of CinemaCon made the announcement. Jacob is being recognized by NATO for his unequalled dedication, commitment, and service to the motion picture theatre industry.

Ellen Kuras First Woman to Receive ASC Lifetime Achievement Award

Thu, 02/03/2022 - 11:49 -- Nick Dager

The American Society of Cinematographers will recognize the work of four exceptional artists at its 36th Annual Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography. Ellen Kuras, ASC will receive the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award; she is the first woman ever to win the award. Peter Levy, ASC, ACS will be presented with the Career Achievement in Television Award, and John Lindley, ASC will be honored with the President’s Award. Panavision’s Dan Sasaki will receive the ASC’s inaugural Curtis Clark Technical Achievement Award, which will be given to an individual who has made significant technological contributions to the art and craft of cinematography. The awards will be presented on March 20 at the ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.

American Society of Cinematographers Announces 2022 Award Nominees

Wed, 01/26/2022 - 10:39 -- Nick Dager

The American Society of Cinematographers has named its annual Outstanding Achievement Award nominees in the categories of feature film, documentary, and television cinematography. Winners will be announced during the 36th ASC Awards on March 20. The ceremony will be a hybrid event, both in person and live streamed, at the historic ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.

Cinema Technology Community Announces 2021 Award Winners

Mon, 01/03/2022 - 10:09 -- Nick Dager

The trade group Cinema Technology Community announced the recipients of its prestigious 2021 awards during a special online YouTube Premiere. Hosted by film-critic, author and broadcaster Mark Kermode and CTC’s own Dave Norris, the awards recognize individuals and organizations that continue to drive excellence in moviegoing through the use of technology and outstanding service to the industry.

Ron Howard to Receive MPSE Annual Filmmaker Award

Thu, 12/02/2021 - 13:22 -- Nick Dager

The Motion Picture Sound Editors association today announce that it will honor Ron Howard with its annual Filmmaker Award. The Academy Award-winning director and producer is responsible for some of the most memorable films of the past four decades including the critically acclaimed, Oscar-winning dramas A Beautiful Mind and Apollo 13, and the hit comedies Parenthood and Splash. Howard will be presented with the MPSE Filmmaker Award at the 69th MPSE Golden Reel Awards, set for March 13, 2022 as an international virtual event.

SMPTE Awards Gala a Global Virtual Event

Mon, 11/29/2021 - 11:25 -- Nick Dager

SMPTE, the home of media professionals, technologists, and engineers, will honor industry luminaries and next-generation leaders at the SMPTE Awards Gala, a virtual event taking place across two ceremonies on November 30 and December 1. Registration is free for this year's event, which will feature a unique social reception and a program schedule that makes it easy to engage and celebrate with friends and colleagues around the globe.


Subscribe to Awards