SOC Operator of the Year Nominations Lifetime Achievement Recipients Announced

Bookmark and Share

Thu, 01/13/2011 - 19:00 -- Nick Dager

The Society of Camera Operators has announced its nominees for the Camera Operator of the Year competition and the Lifetime Achievement Award recipients. The awards ceremony a black tie fundraising event to support the Vision Center at Childrens Hospital Los Angeles will be held on February 5th at the Warner Brothers Studio in Burbank California. Nominees for Camera Operator of the Year – Feature Film Hereafter – Steve Campanelli Iinception - Scott Sakamoto The Fighter - Geoffrey Haley The Social Network – Peter Rosenfeld The Town - Colin Anderson Nominees for Camera Operator of the Year - Television: House - Tony Gaudioz Bones - Greg Collier Sons of Anarchy - David Frederick Raising Hope - Doc Karman 24 - Guy Skinner “During the nomination process our members were amazed at the caliber of work out there this year ” says SOC first vice president Jack Messitt. “It was not easy to narrow down the field. Every nominee represents the very best in the craft of camera operating and it will be extremely difficult to chose a winner.” The Camera Operator of the Year Award will be voted upon by the SOC active membership and announced the night of the awards show. The SOC Lifetime Achievement Recipients are: Camera Operator: Michael Ferris (Die Hard Scarface Spiderman 3 Back to The Future II) Camera Technician: Alan Disler – First Assistant Camera (Pearl Harbor Master and Commander The Patriot Mars Attacks) Mobile Camera Platform Operator: Peter Romano ASC – Underwater Camera Operator (Inception Star Trek The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Minority Report) Still Photographer: David James (Shindler’s List Saving Private Ryan Batman Begins Minority Report) Technical Achievement: Arri Alexa Camera System Ultimate Arm - Gyrostabilized Camera Crane Historical Shot: Das Boot - Running in Hallway of Submarine “The SOC is proud to honor this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipients ” says SOC president Dan Kneece. “Their career long achievements are a testament to the creative impact of the entire camera crew and the technical innovators vital to our craft.” Society of Camera Operators