Nominees Announced for the 2014 HPA Awards

Bookmark and Share

Wed, 09/10/2014 - 16:17 -- Nick Dager

The Hollywood Post Alliance has announced its nominees for the 2014 HPA Awards. The Awards honor excellence in post-production while bringing recognition to the creative achievements of individuals and companies as well as creative excellence and groundbreaking technologies within the post-production industry. The HPA Awards are considered the standard bearer for excellence and innovation in the industry.

The nominees in the 12 craft categories were chosen from a field of talented and innovative entries in color grading, editing, sound and visual effects for motion pictures, commercials and television. Judging was completed by panels of category peers and other experts.

The winners of the 2014 HPA Awards will be announced during a gala evening, November 6, at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, California.

Nominees for the 2014 HPA Awards are:

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Jill Bogdanowicz // Modern VideoFilm


Steven J. Scott // Technicolor

12 Years a Slave

Tom Poole // Company 3

Labor Day

Natasha Leonnet // Modern VideoFilm

Monuments Men

Skip Kimball // Technicolor

Outstanding Color Grading – Television

Game of Thrones – Mockingbird

Joe Finley // Modern VideoFilm

Outlander – Sassenach

Steven Porter // MTI Film

The Blacklist – Berlin: Conclusion

Randall Starnes // ColorWorks, a Sony Pictures Digital Productions Company

Reign – Pilot

David Cole // Modern VideoFilm

Castle – Veritas

Anthony Smith // Encore

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial  

Citibank Bright Lights

Dave Hussey // Company 3

Maserati Strike

Siggy Ferstl // Company 3

Southern Comfort Shark Bite

Tim Masick // Company 3

GE Childlike Imagination

Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3

Doosan Heavy Industries

Siggy Ferstl // Company 3

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film

12 Years a Slave

Joe Walker, ACE

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Jeff Ford, ACE and Matthew Schmidt

Guardians of the Galaxy

Fred Raskin and Craig Wood, ACE

Captain Phillips

Christopher Rouse, ACE

American Hustle

Jay Cassidy, ACE, Crispin Struthers, ACE and Alan Baumgarten, ACE

Outstanding Editing – Television

House of Cards – Chapter 26

Cindy Mollo, ACE // Netflix Inc.

Breaking Bad – Felina

Skip Macdonald, ACE 

The Sixties – The Assassination of President Kennedy

Chris A. Peterson, ACE

The Good Wife – Hitting the Fan

Scott Vickrey, ACE

House of Cards – Chapter 14

Byron Smith // Netflix Inc.

Outstanding Editing – Commercial

NY Lottery Toast

Chris Franklin // Big Sky Edit

Pepsi Rhythm of Now

Steve Gandolfi // Cut+Run

American Express What's Your 20?

Chris Franklin // Big Sky Edit

Nissan Juke Trigger                                                                                                           

Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Santander Bank Movie Marathon                                   

Chris Franklin // Big Sky Edit

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Jeremy Peirson and Skip Lievsay // Warner Bros. Sound


Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn

Tim Le Blanc, Gregg Landaker and Rick Kline // Warner Bros. Sound


David Fluhr and Gabriel Guy // Walt Disney Studios Sound

Odin Benitez // Formosa Group


Craig Henighan and Jill Purdy // Subsonic Sound Service

Skip Lievsay // Warner Bros. Sound NY


Glenn Fremantle // Sound 24

Skip Lievsay // Warner Bros. Sound

Christopher Benstead and Niv Adiri // Warner Bros. De Lane Lea

Outstanding Sound – Television

Game of Thrones – The Children

Tim Kimmel, Onnalee Blank, Mathew Waters, Paula Fairfield and Brad Katona // Todd - Soundelux

Banshee – Homecoming

Bradley North, Joe DeAngelis, Bill Freesh, David Werntz and Tiffany S. Griffith // NBC Universal StudioPost

Toy Story OF TERROR!

Axel Geddes // Pixar Animation Studios

Tom Myers, Gary Summers, Michael Silvers and Dustin Cawood // Skywalker Sound

House of Cards – Chapter 14

Jeremy Molod // Netflix Inc.

The Good Wife – Dramatics, Your Honor

Fredric Judkins, John Snider and Christian Buenaventura // Technicolor Sound

Larry Benjamin and Kevin Valentine // Smart Post Sound

Outstanding Sound – Commercial 

Honda Europe Inner Beauty

Anthony Moore and Tom Joyce // Factory

Lurpak Adventure Awaits

Aaron Reynolds // Wave Studios

Nissan Juke Trigger

Doobie White // Therapy Studios

Save The Children Most Shocking Second A Day Video

Jon Clarke // Factory

Three The Ride

Jack Sedgwick // Wave Studios                 

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film


Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Max Solomon, Paul Beilby and Stuart Penn // Framestore

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, R. Christopher White and Eric Reynolds // Weta Digital


Adam Valdez, Seth Maury, Kevin Hahn, David Seager and Carey Villegas // MPC                 

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Russell Earl, Steve Rawlins, Johan Thorngren, Francois Lambert and

Daniel Pearson // Industrial Light & Magic

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Erik Winquist, Keith Miller and Paul Story // Weta Digital

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television

House of Cards – Chapter 19

James Pastorius, Andy Witkowski, Rusty Ippolito and Andrew Roberts // Savage Visual Effects

Hawaii Five-0 – Ho’onani Makuakane

Armen Kevorkian, Jane Sharvina, Andranik Taranyan, Steve Graves and Dan Lopez // Encore VFX

Game of Thrones – The Children

Joe Bauer // Fire and Blood Productions

Sven Martin // Pixomondo

Jörn Grosshans // Mackevision

Thomas Schelesny // Scanline VFX

Matthew Rouleau // Rodeo FX

Silicon Valley – Articles of Incorporation

Lawson Deming, Cory Jamieson, Bill Parker, Casi Blume and Seth Cobb // Barnstorm VFX

Tyrant – Pilot                 

Doug Ludwig, Lindsay Hoppe, Chad Schott, Gevork Babityan, Arutyan Arthur Sayan // Encore VFX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

Lipton Be More Tea

Ben Cronin, Charlie Bayliss and Russell Dodgson // Framestore

Qualcomm Snapdragon – Unsung Hero

Andy Rowan-Robinson, Euna Kho, Matt Pascuzzi and Shayne Ryan // Framestore

GE Childlike Imagination

Benjamin Walsh, Dominik Bauch and Brian Burke // Method Studios

Captain Morgan Fireship

Murray Butler, Raul Ortego, Mike Bain and Andy Rowan-Robinson // Framestore

Audi A3 eTon Powerwalking

Simon French, William Bartlett, Alex Doyle and Kimon Matara // Framestore

In addition to the craft categories, winners of the highly regarded Engineering Excellence Award and the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production will be announced shortly.

Tickets for the HPA Awards will be available in late September. They can be purchased online at