Ninth Annual HPA Awards Ceremony Held

Bookmark and Share

Fri, 11/07/2014 - 12:38 -- Nick Dager

The Hollywood Post Alliance held its Ninth Annual Awards ceremony last night to recognize individuals and companies for outstanding contributions made in helping to create features, television programs, commercials and entertainment enjoyed around the world.

Honors were bestowed in craft categories as well as awards in three special categories: Engineering Excellence, the HPA Judges Awards for Creativity and Innovation, and two Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The gala took place at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, in front of an audience of industry insiders and luminaries.

The winners of the 2014 HPA Awards are:

Outstanding Color Grading - Sponsored by Dolby Laboratories

Outstanding Color Grading – Feature Film


Steven J. Scott // Technicolor

Outstanding Color Grading – Television

“Reign – Pilot”

David Cole // Modern VideoFilm     

Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial 

Doosan “Heavy Industries”

Siggy Ferstl // Company 3      

Outstanding Editing – Feature Film

"Captain Phillips"

Christopher Rouse, ACE    

Outstanding Editing – Television 

"Breaking Bad – Felina"

Skip Macdonald, ACE 

Outstanding Editing – Commercial

Nissan Juke “Trigger”                                                                       

Doobie White // Therapy Studios          

Outstanding Sound – Feature Film


Glenn Freemantle // Sound 24

Skip Lievsay // Warner Bros. Sound

Christopher Benstead and Niv Adiri // Warner Bros. De Lane Lea

Outstanding Sound – Television 

“Toy Story OF TERROR!”

Axel Geddes // Pixar Animation Studios

Tom Myers, Gary Summers, Michael Silvers and Dustin Cawood // Skywalker Sound      

Outstanding Sound – Commercial 

Honda Europe “Inner Beauty”

Anthony Moore and Tom Joyce // Factory

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

“Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”

Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Erik Winquist,                                                       

Keith Miller and Paul Story // Weta Digital

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television

“Game of Thrones – The Children”

Joe Bauer // Fire and Blood Productions

Sven Martin // Pixomondo

Jörn Grosshans // Mackevision                                                             

Thomas Schelesny // Scanline VFX                                                                 

Matthew Rouleau // Rodeo FX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

GE “Childlike Imagination”

Benjamin Walsh, Dominik Bauch and Brian Burke // Method Studios

The HPA Lifetime Achievement Awards

Alan Heim, ACE and Randy Roberts, ACE were individually honored for their outstanding careers in editing.

The 2014 HPA Engineering Excellence Awards

MACOM: 12G-SDI Chipset

Wohler/Cinnafilm Joint Venture: Tachyon Wormhole

The 2014 winners of the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production

American Society of Cinematographers: Color Decision List (ASC CDL)

DigitalFilm Tree: Cloud Post Workflow Initiative (ProStack)

Hollywood Post Alliance