Mandy Walker UCLA’s 2014 Kodak Cinematographer-in-Residence

Bookmark and Share

Sun, 11/23/2014 - 13:01 -- Nick Dager

Award-winning cinematographer Mandy Walker, ASC, (the upcoming JanGot a Gun, Red Riding Hood, Australia, Shattered Glass), has been named the 2014 Kodak Cinematographer-in-Residence at the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television.

This is the 15th year of the residency program, which is sponsored by the Eastman Kodak Company.

The Kodak Cinematographer-in-Residence program began in 2000 to enhance the learning experience of students with insight from renowned cinematographers. UCLA TFT is the only film school that offers a cinematography residency program such as this, where students can receive direct guidance from cinematographers through screenings, workshops and one-on-one sessions over the course of 10 weeks.

The residency begins in December with small hands-on student workshops and continues for the remainder of the 2014-2015 academic year.

“We are honored to work with the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television on this very successful program,” says Kodak’s Bruce Berke. “Mandy Walker is an accomplished filmmaker. The students are guaranteed to learn much about the art and craft of filmmaking from her experiences.”

“The Kodak Cinematographer-in-Residence Program at UCLA TFT is the longest-running cinematography initiative of its kind at any major film school in the country,” says Department of Film, Television and Digital Media Chair William McDonald, who inaugurated the program in 2000. “The past DPs who have participated in the program represent a who’s who of the
industry’s elite and Mandy is no exception. She brings a wealth of contemporary experience to the classroom and it will be exciting to see the knowledge she shares with our students.”

Walker joins a distinguished group of cinematographers who have received this honor in the past including Guillermo Navarro ASC, AMC (From Dusk Till Dawn, Spy Kids, Hellboy, Pan’s Labyrinth, The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn — Part 1, The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn — Part 2, Pacific Rim); (Roger Deakins, BSC, ASC (No Country For Old Men, True Grit, Skyfall); Dante Spinotti, ASC (Hercules, Tower Heist, Public Enemies); Richard Crudo, ASC (American Pie); John Bailey, ASC (American Gigolo, He’s
Just Not That Into You, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, In the Line of Fire, As Good As It Gets); Stephen H. Burum, ASC (The Untouchables, Mission: Impossible); Vilmos Zsigmond, ASC (Close Encounters of the Third Kind, The Deer Hunter, The River); Victor J. Kemper, ASC (American Pie Presents Band Camp, Dog Day Afternoon); Joan Churchill, ASC (Aileen: Life and Death of a Serial Killer); Laszlo Kovacs, ASC (Ghostbusters, Radio Flyer, My Best Friend’s Wedding, Miss Congeniality); Owen Roizman, ASC (The Exorcist, Tootsie, Wyatt Earp); Conrad L. Hall, ASC (Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, American Beauty, Road to Perdition); Dean Cundey, ASC (The Holiday, Jack and Jill, Back to the Future, Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Jurassic Park, Apollo 13); and Allen Daviau, ASC (Van Helsing, Congo, E.T., The Extra-Terrestrial, The Color Purple, Avalon, Bugsy).