Julia Roberts Given ASC 2011 Board of Governors Award

Bookmark and Share

Sun, 02/13/2011 - 19:00 -- Nick Dager

Julia Roberts was given the American Society of Cinematographers 2011 Board of Governors Award during the 25th Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards gala in Hollywood on February 13 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom. Cinematographers and actors have a special rapport that begins with a mutual trust says ASC awards committee chair Richard Crudo. Julia brings something extra to that relationship and further elevates what we do with her beauty and grace. She's a gift to every cinematographer she works with. Roberts earned an Academy Award in 2001 for her role in Erin Brockovich and Oscar nominations for her character portrayals in Steel Magnolias and Pretty Woman. Her films have grossed more than $2.5 billion worldwide. Roberts' many other credits include Michael Collins Everyone Says I Love You My Best Friend's Wedding Conspiracy Theory Notting Hill Ocean's Eleven and Twelve The Mexican Confessions of a Dangerous Mind Charlie Wilson's War Closer and Duplicity. She provided the voice of Charlotte in the animated film Charlotte's Web and made her Broadway debut in Richard Greenberg's Three Days of Rain. Most recently Roberts starred in Eat Pray Love based on the best-selling memoir by Elizabeth Gilbert. Her next film Larry Crowne directed by and starring Tom Hanks is scheduled for release in July. The ASC Board of Governors Award is given to individuals who have made extraordinary achievements to advancing the art and craft of filmmaking. Previous recipients include Warren Beatty Francis Ford Coppola Sally Field Morgan Freeman Ron Howard Sydney Pollack Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg among others. In an industry that accords the respect of legendary stardom very infrequently Julia Roberts has demonstrated continuously-by the strength of her performances and the perfection of her craft-that she has earned this distinction many times over says ASC president Michael Goi. She represents the best of Hollywood to the world. In addition to the Board of Governors Award the ASC will present its annual award for outstanding cinematography in a feature film. The nominees who were announced earlier this year are Matthew Libatique (Black Swan); three-time ASC award nominee Wally Pfister   (Inception); Danny Cohen (The King's Speech); Jeff Cronenweth (The Social Network) and 10-time ASC Award nominee Roger Deakins (True Grit). ASC www.theasc.com