Hollywood Post Alliance Announces Award Nominees

Bookmark and Share

Fri, 10/03/2008 - 20:00 -- Nick Dager

Nominations were announced by the Hollywood Post Alliance for the Third Annual HPA Awards.   Winners of the prestigious HPA Award will be announced on November 6 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles California. The awards launched in 2006 acknowledge creative and technical excellence in the art science and craft of post production in twelve categories. The HPA Awards recognize the abilities of the talented men and women behind the scenes that are a vital part in the creation of motion pictures commercials and television. HPA President Leon Silverman says For the third year the HPA Awards are honored with the highest caliber of talent and skill. The HPA Awards were created to pay homage to the people who make the art happen and the creative partners in the process. The nominees all of the entrants and the companies behind them are the finest part of the business. Nominees for the HPA Awards include: Outstanding Color Grading Feature Film in a DI Process Iron Man                  Steven J. Scott (EFilm) Sweeney Todd                 Stefan Sonnenfeld (Company 3)                 Kite Runner                  Mike Sowa (LaserPacific Media Corporation) Outstanding Color Grading - Television Pushing Daisies “The Fun in Funerals”         Joe Hathaway (LaserPacific Media Corporation) ESPN: The Masters             Siggy Ferstl (RIOT) Andromeda Strain Night 2: “Part 1”     Mike Sowa (LaserPacific Media Corporation) Outstanding Color Grading - Commercial Travelers Insurance “Delivery” Sean Coleman (Company 3) Farmers Help Point “Drowned Circus” Stefan Sonnenfeld (Company 3) Jaguar “XF Hush”                     Alex Bickel (Outside Editorial) Outstanding Editing – Feature Film Iron Man Dan Lebental A.C.E. Into the Wild Jay Cassidy A.C.E. The Dark Knight Lee Smith A.C.E. Outstanding Editing - Television Mad Men “Indian Summer”             David J. Siegel A.C.E. Breaking Bad (Pilot Episode)             Lynne Willingham A.C.E. (Sony Pictures Entertainment) Pushing Daisies “Pie-lette”              Stuart Bass A.C.E.         Outstanding Editing - Commercial American Express “Airport Lounge” Chris Franklin (Big Sky Editorial) Jaguar “XF Hush” Neil Gust (Outside Editorial) Audi “Dream Cars” Jeff Ferruzzo (Outside Editorial)         Outstanding Audio Post - Feature Film Wanted                      Wylie Stateman and Harry Cohen (Soundelux) & Christopher Jenkins and Frank A. Montano (Universal Studios) Wall-E                          Ben Burtt (Pixar Animation Studios) Tom Myers Michael Semanick and Matthew Wood (Skywalker Sound) Into the Wild                     Michael Minkler (Todd AO) Lora Hirschberg (Skywalker Sound) and Martin Hernandez (Ztrackz) Outstanding Audio Post - Television CSI: CRIME SCENE INVESTIGATION Cockroaches           Mace Matiosian Ruth Adelman David Vanslyke Bill Smith Yuri Reese and Jivan Tahmizian (Todd-AO)                 John Adams Episode 3: “Don’t Tread on Me”     Marc Fishman and Tony Lamberti (Todd-AO) & Stephen Hunter Flick and Vanessa Lapato (Warner Brothers Post) R.L. Stine's The Haunting Hour Don't Think About It          Sam Kaufmann and John Schell (Media City Sound) Outstanding Audio Post - Commercial Samaritans “Vectorscope” Joe Mount (Wave Recording Studios) Audi RS6 “Gymnast”                             Tony Rapaccioli and Warren Hamilton (Wave Recording Studios and Tonic) Playstation 3 “Universe”                         Nathan Dubin (Margarita Mix Santa Monica) Outstanding Compositing - Commercial Dunkelziffer e.V. “Tentacle”   Jamie White Toby Walton Matt Burn and Nathan Kane (Absolute Post) Pontiac “Shwayze” Patrick Poulatian and Robert Sethi (Brickyard VFX) MasterCard “Mini”                 Chris Franklin and Ryan Sears (Big Sky Editorial) In addition to the categories announced Dean of the USC School of Cinematic Arts Elizabeth M. Daley will receive the first Charles S. Swartz award which honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of post production—an industry in a state of an expanding creative palette and of dynamic transition as a result of digital technologies and societal changes. The award recognizes Daley’s important contributions to our industry in helping to prepare the filmmakers of the future for their careers in an era of significant creative and technological possibilities. Also on November 6 Ron Burdett will receive the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award. During a 30-year career Ron has committed himself to the post-production industry through technical innovation and his service to the industry including a key role in launching the HPA. The HPA Engineering Excellence Award winner which will be announced later this month will also be awarded at the gala. The Hollywood Post Alliance www.hpaonline.com HPA Awards www.hpaawards.com