EDCF Selects New Board Members

Bookmark and Share

Wed, 07/11/2018 - 11:19 -- Nick Dager

In its recent elections, the European Digital Cinema Forum selected several new board members, covering a wide range of the cinema business across many European countries. This breadth is good for the EDCF and is important for the group so that it can continue to take into account all members’ interests and provide real value to the industry as a whole. 

In a very competitive election, members voted the following people onto the board: 

Angelo d’Alessio – Venice Film Festival, Italy 

Oleg Berezin – Neva Film, Russia 

Tom Bert – Barco, Belgium 

Tammo Buhren – ZweiB, Germany 

David Hancock – IHS Markit, UK 

Dave Hodgkinson – Universal Studios, UK 

Cathy Huis in t’veld Esser – Gofilex, Netherlands 

Matt Jahans – Harkness Screens, UK 

Julian Pinn – Julian Pinn Ltd., UK 

Jan Runge – ICTA, Germany 

Patrick von Sychowski – Celluloid Junkie, UK 

Jack Watts – Deluxe Technicolor Digital Cinema 

The board’s first action was to renew the mandate of current president David Hancock, who was unopposed. 

Hancock said, “I would like to thank everyone who stood as a board member in these elections, the most competitive I can remember. I was impressed by the range and industry stature of the candidates and am heartened by that. It is a very good sign for the EDCF’s future that our membership is so active. I would like to thank the last board for their hard work over the past two years, which has seen the EDCF re-energized and imbued with a new sense of purpose. I also wish to thank those that have stood down from the board for their longstanding commitment and service to the EDCF and wish them good luck in their continuing ventures.” 

The EDCF is currently working on a range of projects, including the continued European rollout of the SMPTE-DCP, a buyer’s guide to laser projection, and a best practices guide to image and audio in cinemas. 

The third annual EDCF Convention will take place in Sweden November 21-22.