Cinema Technology Community Names 2019 Award Winners

Bookmark and Share

Tue, 11/12/2019 - 10:12 -- Nick Dager

The not-for-profit independent trade organization Cinema Technology Community has announced the recipients of its 2019 awards. The awards recognize individuals and organizations that continue to drive excellence in moviegoing through the use of technology and outstanding service to the industry.

More than 150 industry professionals were present for the awards presentation, which was hosted by film-critic, author and broadcaster Mark Kermode, projectionist Dave Norris, veteran broadcaster Simon Mayo, and British film composer David Arnold. Patrick von Sychowski and Helen Budge served as master and mistress of ceremonies.

The 2019 CTC Award winners are:

Technology of the Year – CJ CGV Screen X

Cinema of the Year – Odeon Cinemas Luxe Leicester Square

Team of the Year – BBFC

Rising Star – Grainne Peat, Event Cinema Association

Technology Pioneer – Harkness Screens

Outstanding Achievement – Michael Swinson, Ellis Williams Architects

Lifetime Achievement – Rolv Gjestland, Film & Kino

Presidents Award – Denis Kelly

“Our 2019 recipients blend those that have over many decades helped shape the moviegoing experience we see today with those who are shaping the movie-going experience of tomorrow,” said Richard Mitchell, president of CTC. “Their relentless drive, enthusiasm and passion to push boundaries in design, technology and accessibility deserves the highest accolades and on behalf of the board of directors, governors, advisory council and our members, we congratulate our award recipients.”

Cinema Technology Community