ASC Announces Feature Film Nominees

Bookmark and Share

Mon, 01/06/2020 - 13:34 -- Nick Dager

The American Society of Cinematographers has nominated eight feature films in the theatrical and spotlight categories of the 34th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards. Leading the list of nominees is Roger Deakins for 1917. This is his 16th nomination; he has won four times for The Shawshank Redemption, The Man Who Wasn’t There, Skyfall, and Blade Runner 2049.

George MacKay, center, as Schofield in 1917, co-written and directed by Sam Mendes. Photo credit: François Duhamel / Universal Pictures and DreamWorks Pictures© 2019 Universal Pictures and StorytellerThe other nominees for theatrical release are:

Phedon Papamichael for Ford v Ferrari

Rodrigo Prieto for The Irishman

Robert Richardson Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Lawrence Sher for Joker

Richardson earns his 11th nomination, while Papamichael and Prieto have each been recognized three times in the past by the organization. Sher, Blaschke, Braier and Wolf are first-time nominees.

Since 2014, the association has also presented a Spotlight Award to recognize cinematography in features that may not receive wide theatrical release. The nominees for the Spotlight Award are:

Jarin Blaschke for The Lighthouse

Natasha Braier for Honey Boy

Jasper Wolf for Monos

Last year’s theatrical winner was Łukasz Żal for Cold War, which was also Oscar nominated for Best Cinematography. Last year’s Spotlight Award went to Giorgi Shvelidze for Namme.

Winners will be named at the organization’s annual awards on January 25 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

The American Society of Cinematographers