Winners of the 25th Braunschweig International Film Festival Named

Bookmark and Share

Tue, 11/29/2011 - 19:00 -- Nick Dager

The Spanish comedy What are Bears for? (Para qué sirve un oso) won the Heinrich the audience award of Braunschweig's 25th International Film Festival. The award ceremony took place last month in Braunschweig's State Theater’s Great Hall. The prize money of 10 000 Euro was equally divided between director Tom Fernández and a German distributor. The festival’s main sponsor Volkswagen Financial Services donated the prize money.

 The short film music prize The Leo went to the Dutch film The Origin of Creature by Floris Kyaak (Regie) und Lennert Busch (Musik). The computer animation was selected by a jury with director Verena S. Freytag music journalist Uwe Golz film composer Dieter Schleip and Carsten Spicher the head of the German competition as well as the archive of the short film festival in Oberhausen. The purse of 2 000 Euro was provided by the company BEL NET.

For the fifth time the French-German Youth Award KINEMA was selected by a jury of five young people from both countries. Under the supervision of director Gordrian Maugg (Zeppelin!)  the young jurors chose the French production Ne nous soumets pas à la tentation by director Cheyenne Carron. Carron won a 35mm-single print copy with German subtitles for further festival use.

 The festival's main prize the European Actor's Award worth 10 000 Euro was awarded to the French actress Isabelle Huppert for her outstanding performances and contribution to European film culture.