International 3D Society Names 2012 Techology Award Winners

Bookmark and Share

Thu, 01/12/2012 - 19:00 -- Nick Dager

The International 3D Society today announced the 14 companies and organizations to be honored at its 2012 3D Technology Awards on January 19th in Hollywood. The Awards Committee considered 3D technologies with an eye on those that are genuine advances to the state of the art. We want to shine a spotlight on worthy products that make a contribution to professional and consumer applications said Lenny Lipton chairman of the Society's Awards Committee. Our theme for 2012 is Make It 3D and this year's honored organizations have met industry challenges with superb technical innovation said Jim Chabin president of the society. Receiving honors at this year's awards luncheon in Hollywood will be (in alphabetical order): Blu-ray Disc Association: Blu-ray 3D Specification Cameron/Pace Group: Shadow D Technology and the Shadow D System Fuji: Fujifilm Finepix Real 3D W3 Digital Camera Full HD 3D Glasses Initiative: FHD3DGI Standard GoPro: 3D Hero System HDMI Licensing: Standardization of 3D Formats over the HDMI Interface. Specification Version 1.4a LG Electronics: LG Cinema 3D TV Panasonic: AG-3DA1 Twin Lens 3D Camera Recorder Peter Wimmer: Stereoscopic Player Silicon Imaging: SI-3D Stereo Digital Cinema Camera System Sony: HDR-TD10 3D Handycam Camcorder Sony: Playstation 3 Vizio: Theater 3D YouTube: 3D Channel Entries were reviewed by the Society's 3D Technology Awards Committee for achievement during 2011. The International 3D Society